The Academy Museum Gala returned for its third year on Sunday night, honoring Meryl Streep, Michael B. Jordan, Oprah Winfrey and Sofia Coppola among an A-list group of guests.

The Los Angeles event — which was originally scheduled for Oct. 14 but was delayed until December following Hamas’ Oct. 7 attack on Israel — serves as the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures’ marquee annual fundraiser, raising vital funds to support museum exhibitions, education initiatives and public programming; it has also quickly become one of Hollywood’s starriest nights.

Related Articles

A woman in a black top poses for a photo against a purple backdrop.

Academy Museum Names New Director, David Hockney Talks Freedom, and More: Morning Links for July 7, 2022

Hayao Miyazaki’s Fantastical Films Get the Retrospective Treatment at L.A.’s Academy Museum

The gala raised more than $10 million in support of the museum, and presented four awards to reflect its mission to advance the understanding, celebration and preservation of film and to contextualize and challenge dominant narratives around cinema.

Greta Gerwig presented Streep with the Academy Museum Gala Icon Award, celebrating her significant global cultural impact, and Chloe Zhao presented The Visionary Award to Coppola.

This year’s Vantage Award was presented by Christopher Nolan to Jordan, whose sister Jamila, accepted on his behalf as he was not present at the event — the star was involved in a car accident on Saturday night, and a source close to the actor says he is doing OK after the crash and skipped the gala out of precaution.

Ava DuVernay presented Winfrey with the Pillar Award, acknowledging her leadership and support for the Academy Museum. 

DuVernay, Dr. Eric Esrailian, Halle Berry and Ryan Murphy served as co-chairs for the evening, and the long list of attendees included Leonardo DiCaprio, Angela Bassett, Selena Gomez, Salma Hayek, Robert Downey Jr., Natalie Portman, Julianne Moore, Lupita Nyong’o, Jared Leto, Saoirse Ronan, Cillian Murphy, The Daniels, Ke Huy Quan, J.J. Abrams, Seth Rogen, Olivia Wilde, Billie Eilish, Dua Lipa, Zoë and Lenny Kravitz, Jesse Plemons, Kirsten Dunst, Julia Garner, Eva Longoria, America Ferrera, Sandra Oh, Keke Palmer, Sterling K. Brown, Taraji P. Henson, Rachel Zegler, Gemma Chan, Lily Gladstone, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Natasha Lyonne, Barry Keoghan, Charles Melton, Fantasia Barrino, Awkwafina, Adrien Brody, Phoebe Dynevor, Camila Morrone, Christina Ricci, Addison Rae, Hailey Bieber and Kendall Jenner. (See full red carpet images from the night here).